Photo by Nicholas Hunt/Getty Images for Goldman Properties

The 2018 Songwriters Hall of Fame just got a little bit cooler.

The Hall announced today, music icons Jermaine Dupri and Kool & The Gang would join Alan Jackson and John Mellencap as members of this year’s prestigious class.

PARIS, FRANCE – DECEMBER 05: Kool and the Gang attend “Stars 80, La Suite” Paris Premiere at L’Olympia on December 5, 2017 in Paris, France. (Photo by Julien Hekimian/Getty Images)

Dupri’s induction makes him only the second hip hop act awarded with the honor (JAY-Z was the first to receive the honor last year). The 45-year-old music mogul is responsible for launching the careers of  Jagged Edge, Kriss Kross, Bow Wow, Xscape and more. He launched So So Def in 1993.

Kool and the Gang are most known for their hit songs, Celebration and Get Down On It in the 70s and 80s.  Their hits have been sampled by Mase, A Tribe Called Quest, Dupri, Snoop Dogg and more.

TELL US: Who should the Hall induct next?

Inside Billboard’s 2017 Women In Music Awards
11 photos

Like TV One on Facebook and be sure to follow us on Instagram and Twitter.